Secondary Schools / Further Education Colleges

Secondary Schools / Further Education Colleges

Within this section the framework has used the learning outcomes for SQA’s Information Handling Skills National Qualification at Intermediate 2 SCQF level 5 and elements of CILIP’s Information Literacy definition and skills.


For assessment purposes the levels within this section equate with SCQF levels 2 (there is no seperate discriptor for level 1, which covers all provision that comes below the full achievement of level 2) to 7 with the SQA Intermediate level 2 qualification at SCQF level 5. The skills within this section include planning and organising, defining the topic, identification of key words, identification of suitable information sources, effective searching, evaluating information, record and acknowledge sources of information, communicate / share findings and reviewing search results.



Since the draft framework was developed the new 3 – 18 Curriculum for Excellence  has been developed, piloted and launched. Of particular importance to information literacy is that it is included in the Literacy Across Learning Experiences and Outcomes most notably under:

Finding and using information

Understanding, analysing and evaluating


Information relating to the experience and outcomes can be found within the Literacy across Learning principles and practice paper / document and for a summary of all literacy outcomes and experiences which illustrates the progressional nature of literacy (including information / critical literacy) skills and how these play an important role in all learning.


See also the other Curriculum for Excellence Experiences and Outcomes for links to Information Literacy.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *