Assessment level SCQF Level 9 / SHE level 3, Ordinary degrees

Information Literacy Level

Assessment level SCQF Level 9 / SHE level 3, Ordinary degrees


General skill

Using information literacy skills and competences effectively and ethically to independently undertake a piece of scholarly / academic research


Example of level of task


Specific skills[1] 

1. The ability to recognise a need for information


2. The ability to distinguish ways in which the information ‘gap’ may be  addressed:

  • knowledge of appropriate kinds of resources, both print and non-print
  • selection of resources with ‘best fit’ for task at hand
  • the ability to understand the issues affecting accessibility of sources


3. The ability to construct strategies for locating information


  • to articulate information need to match against resources
  • to develop a systematic method appropriate for the need
  • to understand the principles of construction and generation of  databases


4. The ability to locate and access information


  • to develop appropriate searching techniques (e.g. use of Boolean)
  • to use communication and information technologies, including terms international academic networks
  • to use appropriate indexing and abstracting services, citation indexes and databases
  • to use current awareness methods to keep up to date


5. The ability to compare and evaluate information obtained from different  sources


  • awareness of bias and authority issues
  • awareness of the peer review process of scholarly publishing
  • appropriate extraction of information matching the information need


6. The ability to organise, apply and communicate information to others in ways appropriate to the situation


  • to cite bibliographic references in project reports and theses
  • to construct a personal bibliographic system
  • to apply information to the problem at hand
  • to communicate effectively using appropriate medium
  • to understand issues of copyright and plagiarism


7. The ability to synthesise and build upon existing information, contributing to the creation of new knowledge  


 Examples of how universities (University of Abertay & Loughborough) have used the Seven Pillars Model as a foundation for their own Information Literacy framework / skills levels are included in the Appendices D and E.


SCQF Level 9 / SHE level 3, Ordinary degrees


[1] SCONUL Seven headline skills from the Seven Pillars Model for Information Literacy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *